Skip to main content Skip to footer
Berry, Bormann, Ross and White Take Home PARDees Honors

May 22, 2014

Lafayette Photo Store

 Photo Gallery | Leopard Tradition | Mission Statement
Past Lafayette College Senior Award Winners: Charles L. Albert '08 Award | Class of 1913 Trophy

EASTON, Pa. - Lafayette's senior student-athlete awards show, the PARDees, were held on Thursday evening at the Williams Center for the Arts. More than 100 student-athletes and their families gathered to celebrate the accomplishments of the Class of 2014.

Lauren Berry, Brad Bormann, Mark Ross and Ana White garnered the top honors as selected by Lafayette's head coaches and athletic administrators.

Berry and Bormann secured the Class of 1913 Trophy, an endowed award presented to the senior student-athletes (male and female) who have attained the greatest distinction both as an athlete and a scholar. The award has been presented annually since 1940.

Berry was the 2013-14 Maroon Club Scholar-Athlete of the Year and Academic All-Patriot League Team selection. The team captain is the school record holder in the 800 free relay set in this year's Patriot League Championships and also ranks in Lafayette Swimming's All Time Top 10 in five events. Berry is a Member of Psi Chi, the National Psychology Honor Society and a member of the Order of Omega, a Greek National Honor Society. Academically, the team captain is an EXCEL scholar who maintains a 3.94 grade-point average (GPA) while majoring in Psychology with a minor in Art.

"Lauren has been the definition of student-athlete. There isn't much she did not accomplish while at Lafayette. She is graduating with a very high GPA, leadership experience in multiple facets and athletic performances that are in our All Time Top 10," said Jim Dailey, Lafayette swimming and diving coach. "She led by example and was an outstanding role model for the students in psychology, her sorority sisters and women on the team."

Like Berry, Bormann was selected as the 2013-14 Maroon Club Scholar-Athlete of the Year, was a team captain and also completed EXCEL research. A three-year starter at guard, Bormann helped lead the football program to a 2013 Patriot League title and an FCS Playoff berth.

The CoSIDA Academic All-American is a Biology major with an English minor, who maintains a 3.82 GPA. He was selected from the entire Lafayette student body as the George Wharton Pepper Prize winner as the Lafayette senior "who most nearly represents the Lafayette ideal." With that honor, he will address the Class of 2014 during Saturday's commencement.

"Brad epitomizes the ultimate in what is described as a student-athlete," said Lafayette head football coach Frank Tavani. "In my 38 years of college coaching, he is by far the most well rounded person in every aspect - academics, athletics, leadership and public service. He is a role model for what all student-athletes should strive to be."

Ross and White garnered the Charles L. Albert '08 Award, given to the student-athletes who are judged to be the most outstanding athletes. The endowed award was established in 1966.

Like Bormann, Ross was an Academic All-American following the 2013 season. The three-time All-Patriot League selection (two first-team and one second-team) leaves Lafayette as its all-time leading receiver. He finished his career with 198 receptions for 2,811 yards and 27 touchdowns. He is the only wideout in program history to post consecutive 1,000-yard seasons and had 14 career games with 100 or more receiving yards. Ross completed his senior campaign with 74 catches for 1,078 yards and eight touchdowns.

The senior claimed the 2013 Patriot League Football Scholar Athlete of the Year laurel and will be on the ballot for the conference's Scholar-Athlete of the Year. An Economics major with a 3.63 cumulative GPA, Ross is a two-time winner of Capital One Academic All-District II honors (2012, 2013) and a three-time Academic All-Patriot League honoree.

"Mark Ross departs Lafayette as our all-time leading receiver. Despite being underestimated as a high school recruit, he achieved these goals by being an extremely dedicated and hard working athlete," Tavani said. "He is only one of a few who have won the team MVP trophy award twice and he played a key role in helping us win the 2013 Patriot League championship."

White was a four-time All-Patriot League selection in lacrosse, including First-Team laurels in her final three seasons while being named Second Team in her freshman year when she was tabbed as the Patriot League Rookie of the Year. White also secured IWLCA All Mid-Atlantic Region Second-Team honors all four seasons. In 2013, the conference coaches selected her as the Midfield Player of the Year.

She scored 35 goals and handed out a team-high 15 assists in 2014 and led the Leopards with 41 caused turnovers, 36 ground balls and 101 draw controls. White ended her stint on College Hill with 146 goals and 72 assists (fifth all-time at Lafayette). She leaves Lafayette as the Patriot League all-time leader in draw controls (398) and caused turnovers (125) and she was honored 10 times as the Midfielder of the Week. White holds a 3.12 GPA in Biology.

"Ana is the type of athlete that a coach is blessed to have once in their coaching career. In addition to being athletically gifted, she exemplifies the model of intangibles; hard working, competitive, coachable and dedicated. In her four years, she has been the driving force behind the resurrection of our women's lacrosse program," said Ali Fisher, women's lacrosse head coach. "She has redefined the commitment level of the student athlete and set a new standard for what is expected in our team culture. Her on-field prowess has made her one of the most decorated and respected athletes in the Patriot League but her most valuable asset is that she is capable of inspiring those around her to elevate their own level of play. Ana has played almost every minute of every competition in her four years and each time she stepped on the field she gave us the chance to win."

The PARDees, which featured a pre-ceremony red carpet and a reception afterwards, was hosted by Gary Laubach of the Lafayette Sports Network and Susan Averett, the Charles A. Dana Professor of Economics and Lafayette's Faculty Athletics Representative.

Director of Athletics Bruce McCutcheon and Hanna Sotiropoulos, a senior field hockey player and Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) president, delivered additional remarks at the annual event.