Skip to main content Skip to footer

Six Patriot League Tournaments to Expand

May 29, 2013

Lafayette Photo Store

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. - The Patriot League announced on Wednesday that the postseason basketball, soccer and lacrosse tournaments will expand beginning in 2013-14 with the addition of Boston University and Loyola University Maryland.

The men and women's basketball tournaments will feature all 10 Patriot League members, and once again be played entirely at home sites. First-round contests will feature the 10th-seed at the seventh-seed, and the ninth-seed at the eighth-seed. Each tournament will then move to the quarterfinals held at the top four seeds, followed by the semifinals and championship at the site of the higher seeds. The bracket will not re-seed, and dates will be announced soon.

The men and women's soccer and lacrosse tournaments will now feature a pair of quarterfinal games played at the site of the higher-seeded team, with the sixth-seed visiting the third-seed and the fifth-seed at the fourth-seed. Those winners will then join the top two seeds in the weekend semifinal and championship rounds, played at the site of the highest overall seed in the tournament. The brackets will re-seed after the quarterfinal round.

The 2013 Patriot League Women's Soccer Tournament will begin with the quarterfinals on Nov. 5, followed by the semifinals on Nov. 8 and championship on Nov. 10. The next week, the Patriot League Men's Soccer Tournament opens up with quarterfinals on Nov. 12 and continues with the semifinals on Nov. 15 and championship on Nov. 17. The 2014 Patriot League Men and Women's Lacrosse Tournaments will each feature quarterfinals on April 22 before semifinals on April 25 and the championship on April 27.

Patriot League tournaments in field hockey, volleyball and softball will remain as four-team events played at the site of the highest seed, while baseball has a four-team field with the top two seeds hosting semifinal series followed by a championship series at the higher seed the following weekend.

Boston University and Loyola University Maryland will officially join the Patriot League as full members on July 1, 2013. Among team sports, the Terriers will compete in soccer, lacrosse, basketball, field hockey and softball while the Greyhounds have teams in basketball, soccer, lacrosse and volleyball.