Skip to main content Skip to footer

Leopards Hold End of the Year Banquet

May 19, 2014

Lafayette Photo Store

Easton, Pa. – The Lafayette field hockey team held their annual spring banquet on May 4, to honor the 2013 team and hand out individual awards. The team was joined by their parents, families, friends and the support staff of the program for the event.

“The spring banquet is a special event to give thanks to those who have made an impact on the program during the year both on and off the field.” Head Coach Jennifer Stone said. “It's always a bittersweet event as we send off the seniors. This particular group of 7 made a lasting impact on the program, and their successes will live on through those that follow them.”

On the academic side, freshmen Katelyn Arnold and Aliza Furneaux were given the Academic Excellence award for their work in the classroom during the fall 2013 semester. As a team, the Leopards were named to the 2013 Gladiator by SGI/NFHCA Division I National Academic Team Award list. Arnold, Furneaux and Casey White were all SGI/NFHC Division I Scholars of Distinction, while Kristin Heaney, Haley Keenan and Seybert joined them on the National Academic Squad.

Senior Dana Thomas took home the Unsung Hero Award which is given to the player that made the biggest positive on the team without receiving public recognition during the season.

Classmate Haley Keenan received a pair of awards at the event. Keenan was given the Iron Leopard, given to the player that leads the team in physical fitness and strength. She also received the Players’ Award, given to the player that reflects the values of Lafayette field hockey on and off the field during the season. The senior was also a member of the All-Patriot League Second Team.

The Rappolt MVP was given to junior Brittany Blass. Blass was a member of the First Team All-Patriot League, the Patriot League All-Tournament team and was also a NFHCA Mideast Region Second Team selection.

Rounding out the All-Patriot League honors were Seybert (First Team) and Kelsey Mead (Second Team), while Aimee Smith was named to the All-Tournament team. Eleven members of the team were placed on the Patriot League Academic Honor Roll including, Arnold, Furneaux, White, Heaney, Gula, Smith, Keenan, Seybert, Macrae, Mead and Hanna Sotiropoulos.

The Leopards concluded their 2013 campaign with an overtime loss to eventual Patriot League Champion American in the tournament semifinal.