Skip to main content Skip to footer

Hepp and Valeo Named Maroon Club Scholar-Athletes of the Year

Nov. 21, 2012

Lafayette Photo Store

EASTON, Pa. - Two seniors, Nick Hepp and Emily Valeo, have been honored as the 2012 Lafayette Maroon Club Scholar-Athlete of the Year award winners, announced at the Hall of Fame Dinner on Friday, Nov. 16.

As a member of the Lafayette track and field team, Hepp has been called a Patriot League champion on three different occasions. Individually, Hepp won the outdoor Patriot League championship in the 400m dash and was part of the 2011 and 2012 outdoor 4x100m relay. The senior from Sarasota, Fla. holds the second-best time in school history in the outdoor 400m dash and has excelled in the classroom and the community in addition to his athletic accomplishments. 

As an Engineering Studies major, Hepp holds a 3.49 cumulative GPA and has been named to Lafayette’s Dean’s List four times. In the spring of 2011, Hepp was a member of Lafayette’s Gold Student-Athlete Honors Roster with a GPA of 3.8. Hepp is a member of the Lafayette Mentoring Club where he volunteers at Easton Area Academy as a mentor for middle school children.

Valeo has been a staple in the midfield for the Lafayette field hockey team over the past four years. Recording 13 goals and 45 assists in her career, she was a team captain her final two years on College Hill. During her senior season, she has tallied 33 points on eight goals and 17 assists, was named to the Patriot League All-Tournament Team and earned First Team All-Patriot League honors. As a junior, Valeo helped Lafayette to the first of two consecutive Patriot League Championships and was a First-Team selection in addition to being named to the All-Tournament Team. She also played on the USA National Indoor Field Hockey Team in 2011. 

An English major from Norristown, Pa., Valeo also garnered awards for her work off the field, as she currently boasts a 3.73 cumulative GPA. She is a two-time Academic All-Patriot League member and has been named to the Patriot League Academic Honor Roll each of her first three seasons. Valeo is a three-time member of the NFHCA’s National Academic Squad. 

Hepp and Valeo were honored on the same night that Ann Gold, Tom Kirchoff ’93, Hope McCorkle ’98 and Lafayette’s thee National Championship football teams from 1896, 1921 and 1926, were inducted into the Maroon Club Hall of Fame.