Maroon Club

1980 Women's Lacrosse Team

Lacrosse (Inducted: 2011-12)

1980 Women's Lacrosse Team

The 1980 United States Women's Lacrosse Association Division II National Champion women's lacrosse team is the most recent Lafayette team to claim a national title. The squad, which posted a 12-5 record, was coached by Sharon Mitchell and led by captains Pam MacColl '80, Cindy Oaks '80 and Sue Sullivan '80.

After splitting their first 10 games, the 1980 Leopards capped the regular season with three consecutive wins heading into the USWLA Championships in Catonsville, Md. Lafayette knocked off both Cortland State and Boston College in day-one action then ran past Bridgewater, 9-2, in the semifinal round. A 7-4 triumph over top seed and host Towson State, the fourth win in three days and seventh straight victory overall for the unseeded Leopards, claimed the USWLA National Championship. MacColl scored a tournament-best 20 goals, including five in the championship contest, to earn all-tournament honors alongside Margarette Hickey '82.

Lafayette Athletics, as a partner in the mission of the College, provides an incredibly effective learning experience for student-athletes through competitive NCAA Division I athletics. Lafayette sponsors 23 varsity sports with more than 600 student-athletes.

Mission Statement | Leopard Tradition | Staff Directory | Feedback

The Lafayette Sports Network (LSN) handles all multimedia elements and advertising sales for athletics at Lafayette College. LSN is the Patriot League leader in delivering high-quality programming worldwide via television, radio, streaming video and satellite.

Advertising and Sponsorships | Digital Media | LSN TV