Maroon Club

Bill Russo

Football (Inducted: 2007-08)

Bill Russo

The final inductee, Russo is the lone coach in this year's Hall of Fame class. Russo is Lafayette's all-time winningest coach, compiling a record of 103-98-4 during his 19 seasons on College Hill. He received the 1988 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award after leading his team to an 8-2-1 record and the Colonial League Championship.

Russo, a 1969 graduate of Brown University, was at the helm of three league championship teams (1988, 1992, 1994) and earned Coach of the Year honors following each title. His first season, which also marked Biale's final one at Lafayette, saw the team post a 9-2 record, marking a dramatic six-game improvement from the previous season (3-7). A 7-3 record followed in 1982, earning him ECAC Coach of the Year and AFCA Kodak Coach of the Year honors.

Many of Russo's student-athletes saw success both on the field and in the classroom. He coached 15 All-Americans and 12 Academic All-Americans and saw 16 of his former players continue on to professional football, including Biale.

Russo, who has since retired from coaching, currently resides in Ashville, N.C. with his wife, Sue. The couple has a daughter, Elizabeth.

Lafayette Athletics, as a partner in the mission of the College, provides an incredibly effective learning experience for student-athletes through competitive NCAA Division I athletics. Lafayette sponsors 23 varsity sports with more than 600 student-athletes.

Mission Statement | Leopard Tradition | Staff Directory | Feedback

The Lafayette Sports Network (LSN) handles all multimedia elements and advertising sales for athletics at Lafayette College. LSN is the Patriot League leader in delivering high-quality programming worldwide via television, radio, streaming video and satellite.

Advertising and Sponsorships | Digital Media | LSN TV