Skip to main content Skip to footer

1926 Football Team

Football (Inducted 2012-13)

1926  Football Team

Another win over Lehigh - a 35-0 blanking - capped another perfect 9-0 season for 1926 national champions. The shutout was the fifth for the Leopards, who allowed 37 points all season while totaling 327 on offense. Lafayette's third national championship team was helmed by Maroon Club Hall of Fame Head Coach G. Herbert McCracken and featured Hall of Fame student-athletes Frank Kirkleski '27 and George B. "Mike" Wilson '29 as its starting backfield and Frank Grube '27 playing at end.

Lafayette's 1926 National Championship football team