Men's Track
Seven Lafayette Tracksters Named to Patriot League All-Decade Teams

Leopards are among the 40 student-athletes named to the league's indoor and outdoor track and field teams.

Men's Track Home

Lafayette Track and Field Competes at ECAC and IC4A Championships

Track and Field Earns All-Patriot League Honors

Men's Track and Field Finishes Fifth at Patriot League Championships

Email this to a friend

Feb. 14, 2001

EASTON, Pa. ( - In celebration of the conference's 10th anniversary, the Patriot League announced its Men's and Women's All-Decade Track and Field Teams, which include six former Leopards and one current student-athlete among the 40 roster slots. Current Lafayette senior Rhonda Snyder '01 and former Leopards Carrie Strong '99, Mary Beth Townsend '91, Everald Facey '97, David Robinson '98, Matt Rutt '97 and Warren Sayre '93 were given the prestigious nod for their outstanding contributions to the sport as student-athletes.

Snyder, a senior thrower from Plainville, Conn., is the school record holder in both the outdoor shot put and the hammer throw. She was named the MVP of the Patriot League Championship Meet two times in her career and she won the outdoor hammer throw at the event the past two seasons. The All-Patriot League selection has also been named the ECAC Field Performer of the Week twice this indoor season.

Strong was a three-event Patriot League champion in 1999 for Lafayette, winning the indoor high jump and pentathlon and the outdoor 400m hurdles at the league championships. She was also the league champion in the indoor and outdoor high jump during her junior campaign. Strong was the recipient of the Charles S. Albert '08 Trophy in 1999 and is the school record holder in the indoor and outdoor high jump and the heptathlon.

A distance specialist during her time on College Hill, Townsend holds school records in the indoor 1,000m and 1,500m events and the outdoor 1,500m and 3,000m events. She was also a three- event league champion in 1991, winning the indoor 3,000m and the indoor and outdoor 5,000m events.

Facey, a Leopard from 1993-97, is the school record holder in the indoor 55m dash, the outdoor 100m dash and the indoor and outdoor long jump. He was a Patriot League champion in four events in 1997: the indoor long jump, the indoor 55m dash, the outdoor long jump and the outdoor 100m dash.

A 1998 Lafayette graduate, Robinson is the school record holder in the indoor 3,000m and 5,000m distances. He was also a two-year Patriot League champion, winning the indoor 3,000m in 1997 and the outdoor 1,500m, 5,000m and indoor 1000m in 1998.

Rutt was a two-year Patriot League champion in the triple jump in his time at Lafayette. He also set the school record and won the league championship in the high jump in 1996. Rutt was the recipient of the Class of 1913 Trophy and was a 1997 Maroon Club Scholar-Athlete Award winner.

Sayre was a distinguished middle distance runner at Lafayette, earning praise both individually and as part of a relay team. He holds the school indoor records in the 800m and 1,000m distances and was a two-time Patriot League champion in the 800m. Sayre also won the indoor 1,000m run at the league championship in 1991 and was a member of five Patriot League champion relay teams from 1991 to 1993.

The Patriot League All-DecadeTrack and Field teams are comprised of 20 men and 20 women, who where selected by a committee consisting of head coaches, institutional sports information liaisons and administrative liaisons. Those included on the All-Decade rosters are:

Women - Stephanie Bango (Bucknell '02), Amy Baxter (Navy '01), Yetunde Daniels (Bucknell '97), Lauren Gubicza (Fordham '93), Joanna Helm (Navy '01), Tameka Hinton (Bucknell '95), Tanesha Hodge (Army '94), Heather Lawson (Army '99), Yolanda McCray (Army '98), Norine Nadeau (Bucknell '96), Chantelle Nagbre (Navy '00), Jennifer Opoku (Army '99), Tricia Plasko (Bucknell '91), Jen Rice (Bucknell '98), Tara Santoroski (Lehigh '00), Rhonda Snyder (Lafayette '01), Carrie Strong (Lafayette '99), Julie Sweitzer (Bucknell '00), Mary Beth Townsend (Lafayette '91), Trica Tyler (Bucknell '99).

Men - Ray Appenheimer (Colgate '94), Paul Austin (Bucknell '91), Mike Bernstein (Army '95), Dan Browne (Army '97), Chris Curry (Army '99), Everald Facey (Lafayette '97), Ron Hess (Bucknell '00), Darrin Hinman (Army '97), Gerald Ingalls (Army '96), Cleveland McCray (Lehigh '91), Jim McPherson (Army '94), T.J. Peterson (Army '96), Dave Pomfret (Bucknell '00), Jon Pontius (Army '97), David Robinson (Lafayette '98), Matt Rutt (Lafayette '97), Warren Sayre (Lafayette '93), Jason Stewart (Army '94), Brian Torres (Bucknell '98), Hassen Young (Lehigh '92).

Lafayette Athletics, as a partner in the mission of the College, provides an incredibly effective learning experience for student-athletes through competitive NCAA Division I athletics. Lafayette sponsors 23 varsity sports with more than 600 student-athletes.

Mission Statement | Leopard Tradition | Staff Directory | Feedback | Ask the AD

The Lafayette Sports Network (LSN) handles all multimedia elements and advertising sales for athletics at Lafayette College. LSN is the Patriot League leader in delivering high-quality programming worldwide via television, radio, streaming video and satellite.

Advertising and Sponsorships | Digital Media | LSN TV & Radio Affiliates