Lafayette Football Holds 2006 Postseason Awards Banquet

Go Leopards! Brad Maurer was recognized as Lafayette's team MVP with the Stoney Jones Award.
Brad Maurer was recognized as Lafayette's team MVP with the Stoney Jones Award.
More Coverage at Lafayette News Stand

Feb. 26, 2007

EASTON, Pa. ( - Quarterback Brad Maurer, tailback Jonathan Hurt and defensive lineman Dan Liseno captured the three major awards at the 2006 Lafayette Football Postseason Awards Banquet, held Saturday at Marquis Hall.

Maurer received the Hugh H. "Stoney" Jones '27 Award as the team MVP following a season in which he accounted for 2,534 yards of total offense and 18 touchdowns. Maurer was also honored for his academic accomplishments, including the 2006 Patriot League Football Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Hurt was named Offensive Player of the Year and received the Offensive Back MVP award, while Liseno was selected as the Defensive Player of the Year. Kick/punt returner Shaun Adair and kicker Rick Ziska shared the special teams honors, and linebacker Mark Leggiero was named the team's Rookie of the Year.

The other positional MVP honors went to Mike Saint Germain (offensive line), Joe Ort (wide receiver), Marvin Snipes and Kyle Sprenkle (co-defensive line), Andy Romans (linebacker) and Torian Johnson (defensive back).

Greg Lippert and Marcel Quarterman were recognized with the Most Improved Player Award, and James Dixon and Maurice White were named the Unsung Heroes. Scout Team co-MVP honors went to Ryan Hart-Predmore and DeAndre' Morrow on the offense, and Kenneth McLeon and Nick Oliver on the defense.

Archie Fisher was the second recipient of the David Nelson '06 Award of Valor, an award established and presented to Nelson last year. A fifth-year senior after receiving a medical redshirt for his junior season, Fisher suffered a broken collarbone late in the preseason last fall which limited him to three games. The only catch of his final season went for a crucial first down in the fourth quarter of Lafayette's 49-27 win over Lehigh.

Ned Jesser '39 was given the inaugural Maroon Club's Friends of Football "Friend of the Year" award for his invaluable support of the Lafayette football program. Jesser, who was unable to attend the ceremony, was presented with a framed jersey as Lafayette's number 1 fan.



Rotating image

Lafayette Athletics, as a partner in the mission of the College, provides an incredibly effective learning experience for student-athletes through competitive NCAA Division I athletics. Lafayette sponsors 23 varsity sports with more than 600 student-athletes.

Mission Statement | Leopard Tradition | Staff Directory | Feedback | Ask the AD

The Lafayette Sports Network (LSN) handles all multimedia elements and advertising sales for athletics at Lafayette College. LSN is the Patriot League leader in delivering high-quality programming worldwide via television, radio, streaming video and satellite.

Advertising and Sponsorships | Digital Media | LSN TV & Radio Affiliates