Skip to main content Skip to footer

Football Celebrates 2017 Season at Annual Banquet

Feb. 21, 2018

EASTON, Pa. -- Lafayette football officially closed its 2017 season on Feb. 18, with the program's annual banquet in Marquis Hall.

Mike Joseph '88 served as the emcee, joining with the coaching staff and athletic administrators to deliver the awards.

This year's Offensive MVP went to tight end Dylan Wadsworth. The senior had 41 receptions for 293 yards and a touchdown, helping him earn his second team MVP award of his career. His performance was also good enough to earn him a selection on this year's All-Patriot League First-Team.

Fellow classmate Phillip Parham was awarded the Defensive MVP after leading the nation in interceptions (7) and passes defended (12). His play on the field also earned him a selection on this year's All-Patriot League First-Team.

Junior C.J. Amill earned the Special Teams MVP, serving as the kick returner all season. The junior ran back a 96-yard kickoff in the second half of the Lehigh game. For the season, he averaged 29.4 yards per kick return, giving him the second highest return average in program history. This mark also placed him fifth in the nation.

Junior defensive back Trent Crossan was presented with the Most Improved Player Award. Crossan recorded 50 tackles including two for a loss. He also managed one interception along with half a sack while playing in 11 games and starting the final eight.

Junior linebacker Troy Dixon and sophomore wide receiver Julian Spigner were recipients of the Scout Team Awards. The scout team plays a vital role in preparing the team for Saturdays.

Senior linebacker Brandon Bryant earned the McGaughey Award, given annually to the outstanding players on both teams in the Lafayette-Bucknell game. Bryant collected 17 total tackles including 1.5 tackles for loss against the Bison.

Senior linemen Mike Donnelly and Matt Rothrock were awarded with this year's Leopard Award. Serving as captain of the offensive line, Donnelly was a vocal leader on the sideline. Rothrock started 11 games this season, recording 26 tackles and three sacks on his way to All-Patriot League Second-Team honors.

The Leopards have shifted their focus to the spring season, opening up practice on March 20. They will play their Maroon-White Spring game on April 21 at 4 p.m. The 2018 season opens on Sept. 1 at Sacred Heart.