Skip to main content Skip to footer

2012 Lafayette Football Honors

Feb. 21, 2013

Feb. 21, 2013

Lafayette Photo Store

EASTON, Pa. -The Lafayette football team celebrated the 2012 season and honored 16 student-athletes at the annual football banquet on Sunday night.

Mark Ross capped off a breakout 2012 season by winning two team awards. The Hugh "Stoney" Jones award is given to the team MVP by the coaches. Ross was also awarded the team Receiver Award. The junior Economics major added these honors to his growing list, including: the Academic All-Patriot League Team, First Team All-Patriot League, Capital One Academic All-District II Team, the FCS Athletic Directors Association Academic All-Star Team and the Patriot League Academic Honor Roll.

Ross was one of the top receivers in the Patriot League in 2012, and was fifth in the League and first on the team in touchdowns with 10. He was first in the league in receiving touchdowns (10), second in receptions per game at 6.8, and third in receiving yards per game with 93.6.

Sophomore Luke Chiarolanzio won the team Offensive Line MVP Award for his performances during the season. The right tackle was also named to the All-Patriot League Second Team. Chiarolanzio followed up his 2011 team Rookie of the Year honors with this year's award.

Ross Scheuerman was named Offensive Back of the Year by the coaching staff. The sophomore tailback was an All-League Second-Team selection after scoring five touchdowns and accumulating 1,156 total all-purpose yards in 2012. Scheuerman, the 2011 League Rookie of the Year, led the team and was fourth in the league in rushing with 701 yards on 146 attempts.

The Most Improved Offensive Player award went to sophomore Zach Mazur. The Lehigh Valley native started in all 11 games on the offensive line after seeing action in just one game in 2011.

Jamel Smith complimented his League Rookie of the Year Award by also winning the team Rookie of the Year and Special Teams Player of the Year honors. The freshman caught 38 passes for 291 yards and two touchdowns. Smith led the league in punt return average with 12.7 yards/game.

Freshman Nick Zataveski was awarded the Scout Team Offensive Player of the Year.

On the defensive side, senior co-captain Rick Lyster garnered Defensive Line Player of the Year honors. Lyster was named to the All-Patriot League First Team after recording 54 tackles and three sacks on the season. He also recorded his first career interception in his final home game at Fisher Stadium versus Lehigh on Nov. 17.

Junior Mike Boles was named Linebacker of the Year. He led Lafayette with 88 tackles, including a season-high 12 against Princeton on Oct. 6. Boles was named Defensive Player of the Week by the League (10/22) and earned a spot on the Patriot League Academic Honor Roll as well.

Kyni Scott was awarded the Defensive Back of the Year honor. On a team that led the league in interceptions (22) and turnover margin (+4), the senior stood out. The defensive back made 49 tackles, three interceptions, and a team-leading nine pass break-ups while being named to the All-Patriot League Second Team.

Most Improved on the defensive side of the ball was cornerback Randall Logan. The junior played in all eleven games, earning a start in the final two, after seeing action in just two in 2011. Logan recorded 26 tackles and was tied for second on the team with eight pass break-ups.

Rounding out the defensive awards was freshman Steve Mercado, who was named the Scout Team Defensive Player of the Year.

Four additional student-athletes were honored with annual awards. Sophomore Shane Dornerwas awarded the George McGaughey Award for his performance in the game versus Bucknell on Sept. 22. The defensive lineman recorded 3.0 sacks against the Bison, and 5.5 on the season. The award is named after George McGaughey, who was a 1935 graduate of Bucknell and served as an assistant coach for the Leopards for 32 years. He was inducted into both schools Halls of Fame in 1982.

Seniors Case Garner and Mike Murphy shared the Unsung Hero honor for their contributions during their Lafayette careers.

Sophomore quarterback Zach Zweizig was awarded the Dave Nelson '06 Valor Award for his perseverance on and off the field following the passing of his father in November. Zweizig battled a shoulder injury much of season, but started four games for the Leopards while completing 71-111 passes for 927 yards and eight touchdowns. The award is named for Dave Nelson, who was the victim of a near-fatal stabbing the summer before his senior season. The fullback made a full recovery for the 2005 season, and was awarded the 2006 ECAC Award of Valor.