Skip to main content Skip to footer

Miller Lands on College Baseball Lineup Division I All-Star Team

A.J. Miller was the third Leopard to earn Patriot League Player of the Year honors

June 15, 2011

EASTON, Pa. - A.J. Miller '11 added one more honor to his historic 2011 season for the Lafayette baseball team, landing on the inaugural College Baseball Lineup Division I All-Star Team. Miller was the lone Patriot League player and one of just four catchers on the 40-player list.

The honor concludes a season in which Miller was named the Patriot League Player of the Year for the Leopards and claimed the department-wide Charles L. Albert '08 Award as Lafayette's most outstanding senior student-athlete. Also a unanimous First Team All-Patriot League selection at catcher, Miller batted .385 in his senior season with a .708 slugging percentage and .485 on-base percentage. The left-handed slugger had an historic 2011 campaign in which he ranked among the Lafayette's all-time single-season leaders in hits, RBI, doubles, total bases and slugging percentage. Miller, who graduated in May with a degree in Economics, finished his career tied for the single-season (12) and career (22) records for home runs at Lafayette. He was also recognized by his teammates and coaching staff with the Paul E. Koch '28 Award, an endowed award that is presented annually the Leopards' most valuable player.

In 155 career games played in Maroon and White, Miller batted .313 with 22 home runs, 31 doubles and 101 runs batted in.

2011 is the first season for the College Baseball Lineup Division I All-Star Team, which the national publication introduced instead of a typical All-America squad. The list aims to recognize outstanding players from conferences not typically considered for national honors in addition to those who have earned All-America laurels.

This season, the Leopards earned the No. 3 seed in the Patriot League Tournament. Miller and fellow senior Rob Froio both earned First Team All-Patriot League honors for their efforts on the field, while Froio was also a member of the inaugural Academic All-Patriot League Team.