Skip to main content Skip to footer

And the Winner Is...

Dana Purdy was selected as the Coaches' Award recipient

Aug. 1, 2011

EASTON, Pa. - The Lafayette Swimming and Diving team recently announced its annual team awards. Numerous student-athletes were highlighted and recognized for their work in the classroom and pool. The winners are listed below:

Coaches' Award
- presented by head coach Jim Dailey for best representing the ideals of Lafayette College Swimming

Male: Steve Swavely
Female: Dana Purdy

Most Valuable Athlete

Male: Stephen McCormick
Female: Leah Goldberg

Academic Achievement - highest grade-point average

Male: Stephen Gadomski 3.94
Female: Lexx Salcito 3.84

Most Valuable Performers by Class
- determined by taking the performer's top three events and converting their performances into points using the NISCA scales

2011: Brendan Lawson and Maricate Conlon
2012: Stephen McCormick and Alex Brannick
2013: Danny Ladd and Dana Purdy
2014: Adam Gill and Lauren Berry

Team Spirit

Male: Liam Carey
Female: Stephanie Zielinski, Maricate Conlon and Leah Goldberg

T. Gordon Yates Most Improved Diver

Todd Leone

T. Gordon Yates Most Improved Swimmer

Male: Alex Beeman
Female: Kelsey Theriault

Outstanding First Year Student-Athlete
- swimmer or diver who has shown significant improvements in performance, academics, leadership and team contributions

Male: Adam Gill
Female: Kate Durkan