Skip to main content Skip to footer
Maroon Club Names Scholar-Athletes of the Year

Nov. 16, 2001

EASTON, Pa. ( - Lafayette seniors Tye Gonser (The Dalles, Ore./The Dalles) and Lauren McHale (Seaville, N.J./Ocean City) have been chosen as the 2001-02 Maroon Club Scholar-Athletes of the Year. The student-athletes received plaques in their honor at the Maroon Club Hall of Fame Dinner on Friday night and donations of $1,000 from the Maroon Club were made to their academic major and varsity team.

Gonser is a centerfielder on the Leopard baseball team and a two-time All-Patriot League selection. He is currently seventh on Lafayette's all-time hits list with 136 and maintains a .350 batting average. A four-year starter, Gonser has also recorded 35 stolen bases.

An Economics & Business major, Gonser was named to the GTE Academic All-America baseball team in 2001 and boasts a 3.6 overall GPA. He is a member of the Omicron Delta Upsilon Society for Economics and serves as a peer mentor through Lafayette's Academic Resource Center. A three-time Patriot League Academic Honor Roll member, Gonser was also awarded for academic excellence in religion when he received the 2001 Reverend J.W. & R.S. Porter Bible Prize.

McHale is an All-Patriot League selection on the women's track team and is also a member of the cross country program at Lafayette. A captain for the 2001-02 track season, McHale excelled in her junior campaign having qualified for the ECAC meet in the 1000-meter event during indoor competition. She followed the winter season by capturing the 1500-meter title at the Patriot League Championships this past spring.

An English major, McHale achieved Dean's List status each semester at Lafayette and was also named to the Patriot League Academic Honor Roll. She maintains a cumulative GPA of 3.71 and serves as a writing associate for the English department.

The Maroon Club Hall of Fame Dinner, held Friday night at Lafayette's Marquis Hall, saw the induction of five former Leopard greats. Heidi Caruso '94, Tony Duckett '85, Frank Kirkleski '27, Erik Marsh '95, and former men's basketball coach Butch van Breda Kolff each were enshrined with the highest honor Lafayette can bestow upon its former student-athletes and coaches. This year's class of inductees brings the total number of Lafayette Hall of Famers to 91.