Skip to main content Skip to footer
Senior Student-Athlete Award Winners Announced

May 17, 2012

Red Carpet Photo Gallery | Ceremony Photo Gallery | Class of 1913 Trophy | Charles L. Albert '08 Award
Video Red Carpet Video | Video Backstage Video

EASTON, Pa. - Lafayette hosted its annual Senior Student-Athlete Awards Ceremony on Thursday evening at Williams Center for the Arts. More than 100 graduating student-athletes were recognized for their accomplishments and four individuals, Ryan Willen, Erika Stasakova, Jerome Rudolph and Carolyn Cabrey, were honored as the 2011-12 major award winners, as voted upon by Lafayette's head coaches and athletic administrators.

Willen and Stasakova received the Class of 1913 Trophy, an endowed award presented to the senior male and female student-athletes who have attained the greatest distinction both as an athlete and a scholar. The Class of 1913 Trophy has been presented annually since 1940.

Willen, a Neuorscience major with a 3.43 GPA and a member of the men's basketball team, was honored by the Patriot League as its Scholar-Athlete of the Year following the 2012 season. He helped Lafayette to a pair of Tournament Final appearances and three consecutive trips to the league semifinals to end his career. Individually, Willen ranks sixth in Lafayette history in scoring with 1,453 points and became the 13th player to score 1,000 points and grab 500 rebounds. A two-time All-Patriot League selection, Willen plans to pursue a career in medicine. He volunteered at the Praxis Alzheimer's Facility and spent 10 weeks as an intern at Southeast Hospital in his hometown of Cape Girardau, Mo.

An International Affairs and Spanish double major, Stasakova was a member of the cross country and track and field team during her four years on College Hill. The Bel Air, Md. native is the 2012 Patriot League Champion in the 3,000 meter steeplechase and holds the school record in the event. She set the record at the league championships and improved the time at the Outdoor ECAC Championships. Stasakova ranks sixth all-time in school history in the indoor 3,000 meter run.

Stasakova holds a 3.78 cumulative GPA and had two semesters with a perfect 4.0. A four-time Patriot League Academic Honor Roll selection, she was awarded the Frank Kline Baker Spanish and Latin American Civilization and was an intern with an International Economics professor at the University of Granada during her time studying abroad in Spain.

Red carpet interviews being conducted at the 2012 Lafayette Senior Student-Athlete Awards Ceremony.

The Charles L. Albert '08 Award was presented to Rudolph and Cabrey. Established in 1966, the endowed Albert Award is given to the senior male and female student-athletes who are judged to be the most outstanding athletes.

For Rudolph, an African Studies major, the honor caps a season in which he was named a Patriot League Champion in three events, the 100 meter dash, 200 meter dash and the 4x100 meter relay. Rudolph, who was a member of the track and field team for his final two years at Lafayette, hails from Lithonia, Ga. and was named Track Athlete of the Meet at the Patriot League Outdoor Championships. He also excelled at the IC4A Championships, claiming All-East accolades in the 100 and 200 meter dashes.

The 2011 Patriot League Tournament MVP, Cabrey takes home the Albert Award after serving as a team captain on Lafayette's Patriot League Championship field hockey team. Also a First Team All-League selection and Regional All-American, Cabrey recently was honored by the Lehigh Valley Association of Intercollegiate Athletics for Women as the Field Hockey Award Winner as well as the Outstanding Athlete Award. A four-year All-Patriot League selection, Cabrey majored in Biology and also served as the team SAAC representative.

The ceremony, which featured a pre-ceremony red carpet and a reception afterwards, was hosted by Gary Laubach of the Lafayette Sports Network and Dr. Jarrod Spencer '96, Lafayette's sport psychologist. Additional remarks were delivered by Director of Athletics Dr. Bruce McCutcheon and Angela CampoBasso, a senior women's soccer player and president of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee.

Remember to `Like' Lafayette Athletics on Facebook and follow @GoLeopards on twitter.