Skip to main content Skip to footer
Male Nominees Announced for Albert Award

May 13, 2016
Past PARDees Award Winners:
Charles L. Albert '08 Award | Class of 1913 Trophy | Leopard Tradition | Mission Statement

EASTON, Pa. - The male nominees for the Charles L. Albert '08 Award were announced Friday and include Greg Grewal from swimming, Jarrel Bobb from track and field, Michael Coniglio from baseball, Matt Smalley from football, Bryce Scott from men's basketball and Chris Matturri from men's tennis. The winner will be announced on Thursday, May 19, at the 2016 PARDees.

The PARDees, an annual awards show that recognizes Lafayette's senior student-athletes for the accomplishments and contributions to their programs, will be hosted by Gary Laubach of the Lafayette Sports Network and Susan Averett, and Economics professor and Lafayette's NCAA Faculty Representative. The event begins with a red carpet walk at 4 p.m.

2016 PARDees - Nominees
Class of 1913 Trophy (Female Nominees)
Class of 1913 Trophy (Male Nominees)
Albert Award (Female Nominees)
Albert Award (Male Nominees)

Four graduating seniors will receive special recognition as the Charles L. Albert, Class of 1908 Awards and the Class of 1913 Trophies will be presented to one male and one female each. The winners are determined by a vote from Lafayette's head coaches and athletic administration.

The Albert Award is presented annually to the senior male and female student-athletes at Lafayette who are judged to be the most outstanding athlete, while The 1913 Trophy is presented to those who have attained the greatest distinction both as an athlete and a scholar.

Information on the 2016 male nominees for the Albert Award can be found below.

Greg Grewal, Swimming: 2016 Maroon Club Scholar-Athlete of the Year...2016 Patriot League Scholar-Athlete for men's swimming...qualified for the US Olympic Trials in the 100 meter breaststroke...met the NCAA Division I B Qualifying standard in the 100 breast and the 200 breast...holds six school records in the 100 breast, 200 breast, 200 IM, 100 IM, 200 medley relay and 400 medley relay...three-time selection to the All-Patriot League Second Team...member of the Academic All-Patriot League team and the Oaks Leadership Academy...served as team captain.

Jarrel Bobb, Track & Field: Two-year captain...placed third in the long jump at the 2016 Patriot League Indoor Championships...earned All-East Honors in the long jump at the Indoor IC4A Championships in 2015...holds eight individual all-time top-10 performances in school history (#2 - Indoor 400m, #5 - Indoor Long Jump and Indoor Triple Jump, #6 - Indoor 200m, #7 - Outdoor Long Jump, #8 - Indoor 60m, Outdoor 100m, #10 - Outdoor Triple Jump)...12-time individual qualifier for the IC4A Indoor & Outdoor Championships...member of SAAC, the Fellowship of Christian Athletes, the Lafayette African and Caribbean Student Association and works in support of medicine, education and development for low-income families.

Michael Coniglio, Baseball: Marquis Scholar...Member of the Federal Reserve Challenge Team, the Pi Mu Epsilon Mathematics Honors Society and the Omicron Delta Epsilon Economics Honors a .310 career hitter with 107 career hits and 37 stolen bases...earned All-Patriot League First-Team honors this spring...two-time Patriot League Academic Honor Roll selection...named to the CoSIDA Academic All-District Team in 2016 and tha Academic All-Patriot League Team in 2015 and MVP in 2015...2016 Patriot League Baseball Scholar-Athlete of the Year...has made Dean's List five times...third in program history for stolen bases in a single season (25), tops in the Patriot League this season and 11 more than any other player.

Matt Smalley, Football: Recently inked a three-year deal with the New York Giants of the National Football League...Four-time All-Patriot League First-Team selection...winner of the Hugh H. Jones '29 Award in 2016...selected to the All-ECAC All-Star Team...named the Special Teams Player of the Week on Sept. 9, 2013 and Nov. 14, 2013...was the team's Special Teams MVP in his sophomore season...picked up the George McGaughey Memorial Award in his junior year as the most outstanding player on his team.

Bryce Scott, Men's Basketball: Member of the 2015 Patriot League Championship team...graduates with more than 1,200 career points...served as team captain during his senior season and was a four-year starter...member of the Patriot League All-Rookie Team in 2013...finished the 2015-16 season ranked 17th in the nation and first in the Patriot League in three-point percentage (43.7%)...knocked down over 200 three's in his of 20 players in school history to score over 35 points in a single game...a Leader of Distinction in the Oaks Leadership Academy.

Chris Matturri, Men's Tennis: Combined for 62 wins in singles and doubles over his four-year career...Knocked off the top player for Loyola and the third-ranked player from Army this season.