Skip to main content Skip to footer
Lafayette Announces Female Albert Award Nominees

May 12, 2016
Past PARDees Award Winners:
Charles L. Albert '08 Award | Class of 1913 Trophy | Leopard Tradition | Mission Statement

EASTON, Pa. - The female nominees for the Charles L. Albert '08 Award were announced Thursday and include Jaclyn Andrews from swimming, Devin Smith from track and field and Caroline Nixon from women's tennis. The winner will be announced on Thursday, May 19, at the 2016 PARDees.

The PARDees, an annual awards show that recognizes Lafayette's senior student-athletes for the accomplishments and contributions to their programs, will be hosted by Gary Laubach of the Lafayette Sports Network and Susan Averett, and Economics professor and Lafayette's NCAA Faculty Representative. The event begins with a red carpet walk at 4 p.m.

2016 PARDees - Nominees
Class of 1913 Trophy (Female Nominees)
Class of 1913 Trophy (Male Nominees)
Albert Award (Female Nominees)
Albert Award (Male Nominees - May 13, 2016)

Four graduating seniors will receive special recognition as the Charles L. Albert, Class of 1908 Awards and the Class of 1913 Trophies will be presented to one male and one female each. The winners are determined by a vote from Lafayette's head coaches and athletic administration.

The Albert Award is presented annually to the senior male and female student-athletes at Lafayette who are judged to be the most outstanding athlete, while The 1913 Trophy is presented to those who have attained the greatest distinction both as an athlete and a scholar.

The final category, the male nominees for the Albert Award, will be released on Friday. Information on the 2016 female nominees for the Albert Award can be found below.

Jaclyn Andrews, Swimming: Marquis Scholar, 2016 Patriot League Academic All-League selection...member of Tau Beta Pi, the engineering Honor Society...winner of the Dr. EL McMillen-KK Malhotra '49 Prize in chemical and bio-molecular engineering at the 2015 Honors Convocation...holds three school records (100 fly, 200 fly and 400 medley relay)...four-time most valuable by class year...2016 Lafayette swimming most valuable swimmer...2016 Lafayette swimming academic achievement award winner...2015 Lafayette swimming most improved recipient...2015 team captain...member of the Oaks Leadership Academy...2013 Lafayette swimming outstanding first-year performer.

Devin Smith, Track and Field: 2016 Patriot League Champion in the Indoor 400m (54.81)...broke the championship meet record and set a new school record...served as team captain for the 2015-16 season...two-time Patriot League Champion in 2015, winning the Indoor 4 x 400m and the Outdoor 4 x 400m...owns seven school records (Indoor 200m - 24.71, Indoor 400m - 54.81, Outdoor 200m - 24.82, Outdoor 400m - 54.38, Indoor 4 x 400m Relay - 3:46.19, Outdoor 3 x 100m Relay - 47.39, Outdoor 4 x 400m Relay - 3:42.67)...six-time All-League selection...earned All-East Honors at the ECAC Championships in 2015...went undefeated against Lehigh all four years...holds 16 spots on the Lafayette all-time top 10 list...member of the Kappa Kappa Gamma Sorority and volunteer for the Easton Day Care Facility...Academic All-Patriot League selection in 2016.

Caroline Nixon, Women's Tennis: Played the top singles spot all four years...two-time All-Patriot League selection...three-time Academic All-Patriot League honoree...tallied 38 wins in her career...member of the Oaks Leadership Academy...served as team captain.