Skip to main content Skip to footer
McKittrick Selected For Maroon Club Staff Achievement Award

May 11, 2018

EASTON, Pa. – Kaitlyn McKittrick has been selected as the 2017-18 recipient of the Maroon Club Staff Achievement Award, doled out at the College’s annual pre-commencement awards dinner on Friday, May 11.

McKittrick is putting the finishing touches on her 11th year as an athletic administrator and her second in her current role as deputy director of athletics.

“Kaity is a tremendous leader who has had a significant impact on our student-athletes, coaches and staff,” said Lafayette Director of Athletics Sherryta Freeman. “She is extremely dedicated to Lafayette Athletics and the institution as a whole, and is more than deserving of this award as she consistently performs beyond expectations.”

McKittrick has been instrumental in developing student-athletes into leaders of consequence through her administration and mentoring in the Oaks Leadership Academy.

“Kaity has been a mentor during my time in the Oaks Leadership Academy. She has helped me develop my leadership skills, taught me new skills and encouraged me to step out of my comfort zone,” said field hockey team captain Ellen Colbourne ’18. “Working directly with Kaity as the Oaks Leadership Academy Fellow has given me the opportunity to experience firsthand how committed Kaity is to helping student athletes excel.”

McKittrick also lends her leadership and expertise in helping student-athletes on the NCAA level, chairing the NCAA Division I Committee for Legislative Relief, which reviews the application of NCAA legislation in cases where the circumstances are extraordinary in nature in an effort to help student-athletes.

The award, which is voted on by the Maroon Club Executive Committee, is given to a full-time athletics department staff member who has demonstrated outstanding service to Lafayette College and its athletics program. The award is the highest honor the Maroon Club bestows upon athletics staff members. Director of Sports Medicine Matt Bayly earned the award in 2017 while athletics business manager Dave Blasic (2016) and men’s basketball head coach Fran O'Hanlon (2015) won it the two years prior. Former Lafayette football coach Frank Tavani was named in 2014 following former track and field head coach Julio Piazza in 2013. Head women's soccer coach Mick Statham was the recipient in the award’s inaugural year of 2012.