Skip to main content Skip to footer
Class of 1913 Trophy Male Nominees Unveiled

May 9, 2015

Lafayette Photo Store

Past PARDees Award Winners:
Charles L. Albert '08 Award | Class of 1913 Trophy | Leopard Tradition | Mission Statement

EASTON, Pa. - The male nominees for the Class of 1913 Trophy were announced Saturday and include Brandon Goldstein and Brian Pinkard from men's tennis, Seth Hinrichs from men's basketball, Julian Plummer from men's soccer and Cory Spera from baseball. The winner will be announced on Thursday, May 21, at the 2015 PARDees.

The PARDees, which begins with the red carpet walk at 4 p.m., will be hosted by Gary Laubach of the Lafayette Sports Network and Susan Averett, an Economics professor and Lafayette's NCAA Faculty Representative.

2015 PARDees - Nominees
Class of 1913 Trophy (Female Nominees)
Class of 1913 Trophy (Male Nominees)
Albert Award (Female Nominees)
Albert Award (Male Nominees)

Four graduating seniors will receive special recognition as the Charles L. Albert, Class of 1908 Awards and the Class of 1913 Trophies will be presented at the event. One male and one female senior student-athlete will win each honor, which are voted upon by Lafayette's head coaches and athletic administration.

The Albert Award is presented annually to the senior male and female student-athletes at Lafayette who are judged to be the most outstanding athlete. The 1913 Trophy is presented annually to the senior male and female student-athletes who have attained the greatest distinction both as an athlete and a scholar.

The nominees for the Albert Award will be announced beginning with the female side on May 14, followed by the male nominees on May 19.

The 2015 male nominees for the Class of 1913 Trophy:

Brandon Goldstein, Tennis: 3.75 grade-point average in Economics, competed at #1 singles and #1 doubles his final three seasons, holds a career doubles record of 27-32 in dual team matches, won the top doubles flight at the Bucknell Invitational during his senior year, named to the Academic All-Patriot League team as a sophomore, Member of the Economics Honor Society--Omicron Delta Epsilon, participates in Phi Beta Kappa, Oaks Leadership Academy and as the Peer Tutor program.

Seth Hinrichs, Basketball: 3.4 grade-point average in Economics, Three-time member of the Dean's List (2011, 2013, 2014), Twice named to the Academic All-Patriot League team (2014, 2015), member of the 2011-12 Patriot League All-Rookie Team, Three-time All-Patriot League performer (Second Team -- 2012-13, Third Team -- 2013-14, 2014-15), participated in the Oaks Leadership Academy, as a Peer Mentor and on the Board of Directors for Athletes C.A.R.E.

Brian Pinkard, Tennis: 3.95 grade-point average in Mechanical Engineering, competed primarily at #2 singles, #3 singles and #2 doubles, holds a career doubles record of 16-13 in dual team matches, named to the Academic All-Patriot League team in 2014 and 2015, made Dean's List in every semester while completing his degree requirements in three years, a Marquis Scholar, member of Tau Beta Pi--Engineering Honor Society, a CaPA Fellow (Creative and Performing Arts), was a Resident Advisor during his senior year and also participated in the Peer Tutor program.

Julian Plummer, Soccer: 3.64 grade-point average in Economics with a minor in Government & Law, started every game the team played in four years, three-time member All-Patriot League performer (2011, 2013, 2014), twice named to Patriot League All-Academic team (2012, 2014), member of the 2012 Patriot League championship team, made Dean's List in the fall of 2011, 2013 and 2014, and the spring of 2012 and 2014, member of the Student-Athlete Academic Honor Roll in the Fall of 2011 and 2014 and the spring of 2012 and 2013, Omicron Delta Epsilon--selected to the International Economics Honor Society, Pi Sigma Alpha--Selected to the National Political Science Honor Society, winner of the Otis Ellis '89 Scholar-Athlete award, given to a successful varsity athlete who has achieved an outstanding level of scholarship, winner of the Dr. Eugene DeLoatch '59 First-Year Academic Achievement award, given to a student of color from the natural sciences division with the highest grade-point average, participated in the United States Naval Academy Leadership Conference in 2014 where he engaged in daily breakout discussions about leadership with students from the United states Naval Academy and 60 other military and civilian universities, served as a Board Member for Athletes C.A.R.E.

Cory Spera, Baseball: 3.88 grade-point average in Biology, winner of the Maroon Club Scholar-Athlete award and Lafayette College's Pepper Prize, member of the 2015 Class Gift Committee and the Lafayette Leadership Education Committee, volunteers at the Miracle League of the Lehigh Valley, participates on the NCAA Leadership Forum, the Lafayette Alcohol and Drugs Standing Committee, the Lafayette Alumni Relations Council, Oaks Leadership Academy and as a Peer Mentor, a Gateway Ambassador and Treasurer of the Sports Marketing Club, four-time member of the Patriot League Academic Honor Roll.