Skip to main content Skip to footer
Leopards Honored at All-College Honors Convocation

May 7, 2014

EASTON, Pa. - Lafayette College hosted its annual All-College Honors Convocation on May 4, recognizing the top students in each discipline. In total, 13 student-athletes were honored by their respective faculty members for their efforts in the classroom.

The swim team led all sports with six athletes recognized. Sophomore Jaclyn Andrews received the Dr. E.L. McMillen-K.K. Malhotra '49 Prize from the Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Department. The award is given to juniors or rising juniors who have attained a high cumulative average in chemical engineering and who have demonstrated a high level of proficiency in the Unit Operations Laboratory. Freestyler Lauren Berry received the Herbert W. Rogers Psychology Prize, a prize awarded annually to outstanding senior psychology majors who are judged by the department to be the most deserving. Cory Heffelfinger earned the Rexroth Prize Language Studies Award in German awarded to students for meritorious achievement in German. Junior Robyn Henderek received the Ted and Georgia Metropolis Prize in Geology, awarded to junior or senior Geology majors who have exhibited high academic achievement and demonstrated enthusiasm for geology and environmental geosciences both inside and outside the classroom and through service. Sacha Broccard and Jane Kuntz join the honored swimmers as a member of Phi Beta Kappa, a national honorary organization for outstanding undergraduate students of liberal arts and sciences in which one can only be admitted by election.

Representing the track team, sprinter David Robinson was awarded the Paul Bernon Memorial Prize in Sociology for being acknowledged by the faculty of the Department of Anthropology and Sociology as one of the most outstanding graduating seniors. Distance runner Rose Willey was the recipient of the J.H. Tarbell Award from the Department of Economics for being a student who demonstrates an understanding of financial operations and institutions. Junior Grace Watters earned a place in Tau Beta Pi, a national engineering honor society whose members have conferred honor upon their alma mater by distinguished scholarship and exemplary character as students in engineering.

Seniors Lucy Bass and Liza Blank from the tennis team were each honored by their respective department. Bass, an engineering major, received the Charles L. Best Prize in engineering studies as the senior who best exemplifies the ideals behind the Bachelor of Arts in Engineering degree and has demonstrated leadership in the Bachelor of Arts in Engineering Program. Blank, a psychology major, took home the Frank Kline Baker Spanish and Latin American Civilization Award as a student who attained the greatest proficiency in the study of Spanish and Latin American Civilization. The Avon, Conn. native was also selected as a member of Phi Beta Kappa.

The James F. Bryant '40 Excellence Award was handed to baseball's Cory Spera. This award is given to a junior student who meets standards of excellence, as did James F. Bryant, by demonstrating high academic achievement, lettering in at least one varsity sport, and showing noticeable and noteworthy evidence of community service. Spera's teammate and classmate, Tim Lazor was elected into Tau Beta Pi.

The Department of Geology and Environmental Geosciences awarded women's basketball forward Emily Homan the Ted and Georgia Metropolis Prize in Geology, an award given to junior or senior Geology majors who have exhibited high academic achievement and demonstrated enthusiasm for geology and environmental geosciences both inside and outside the classroom and through service.

Maureen Carey of fencing claimed the Willis Roberts Hunt Biology Prize after being deemed most deserving by the members of the department.

Of these 13 student-athletes, seven were named either EXCEL Scholars or Marquis Scholars. The EXCEL Scholars, including Bass, Blank, Berry and Spera, work collaboratively with faculty on research projects that expand the boundaries of knowledge. Marquis Scholars, including Andrews, Willey and Carey, are exceptional students who have distinguished themselves through academic achievement and who have demonstrated intellectual curiosity through involvement in school and programs.